Cherokee County, Iowa Treasurers duties include working with County Financial Management, Real Estate, Motor Vehicles, Collection of Property Taxes, and Annual Tax Sale.


County Seat
Cherokee County Courthouse
520 West Main
Cherokee, IA 51012

Cherokee County, Iowa - Treasurer

Driving License By Appointment only

Driver License Hours:

Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday 10:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M.
Tuesday 8:30-4:00

Drivers License Testing:
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday 10:00 A.M.- 3:30 P.M.
Tuesday 8:30 A.M.- 3:30 P.M.

Drive Test: Phone 712-225-2770
Car drives by appointment.
Motorcycle drives by appointment and weather permitting.
CDL drives on Tuesday only by appointment.

Payments for taxes or motor vehicle accepted in the office are cash, check, debit card or credit card.

For Your convenience, we have a drop box on the north side of the courthouse where it is also handicap accessible.
Online Payment Services:
Discover, MasterCard, Visa, and eCheck are accepted transactions.
Property Tax:
First half of taxes are due September 1, 2019 and are delinquent on October 1, 2019.
Second half of taxes are due March 1, 2020 and are delinquent April 1, 2020. 
Please follow the link at left (under "Quick Links") to pay online.
Vehicle Renewals:
You may renew online when you receive a renewal notice containing a PIN# for online renewals. Please follow the link at left (under "Quick Links") to renew online.






Treasurer FAQ'sForms

Address of
Treasurer's office:
Drawer E
520 West Main
Cherokee, IA 51012

Office Hours:
8:00 A.M.-4:30 P.M.

Phone Number:
(712) 225-6740

FAX Number:
(712) 225-6753

Motor Vehicle:
(712) 225-6741

Drivers License:
(712) 225-2770

Office holder name:
Roswitha (Hedgie) Brandt

Employees in
Treasurer's Office:
Motor Vehicle and Tax Clerk
Cindy Nelson

Driver License Issuance Clerk
Jackie Dierenfield

Araceli Johnson

Deb Stevenson

CDL Tester
Bryan Petersen

Treasurer's Links:
Iowa State County
Treasurers Association

Other Related Links:
Get Your Tags

Iowa Department of Revenue

Iowa Motor Vehicle Division

Pay Your Taxes Online

Iowa Department of Public Safety Agencies

Iowa Department of Transportation Agencies